Welcome to Smith Island United
A 501(c)(3) Organization


2024 Smith Island United Facade Application - Details

Who We Are

We are the people of Smith Island, in the great state of Maryland! Our island is 12 miles offshore, in the middle of the Chesapeake Bay. We have a strong belief in our faith, our family, and our community.

Our Philosophy

Our island community has existed for over 400 years. Smith Island United accepts it as our responsibility to ensure that this island, its people, and its culture are around 400 years from now.

The Smith Island United Leadership Team

Smith Island United is led by a nine-member Executive Committee that is composed of an equal number of elected members from each of the Island's three communities: Ewell, Rhodes Point, and Tylerton. Each community is represented on the Committee by two full-time residents and one part-time resident, all of whom care deeply about the past, present, and future of the Island and its residents.
The elected members of the current Executive Committee are:

Eddie Somers, President
Mark Kitching, Vice President
Buddy Evans, Treasurer
Shanon Abbott, Secretary
Missy Evans
Johnny Crants Tyler

Pal Bradshaw
Dr. Robert Floros
Chris Marshall
Jessie Marsh


Smith Island Vision Plan

This plan is a vision of how Smith Island will look, feel, and thrive in the coming decades. Achieving this vision centers around 5 interdependent themes:
        Sustenance and growth of the watermen culture
        Viability of the local economy
        Development and maintenance of infrastructure
        Development of reliable and sustainable transportation
        Need to grow the year-round population of the Island

the final approved Vision Plan - "The Smith Island Vision Plan"